Storytime: Predictable Stories

Books I used:
Rhyming Dust Bunnies, Jan Thomas
Ugly Fish, Kara LaReau
Dinosaur Kisses, David Ezra Stein
Up and Down, Oliver Jeffers

513eYlIUoaL

 

Rhymes, Felts, and Songs:
Baby Shark
This is Big, Big, Big
Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
I Had a Little Turtle
– felt

61hWFoxGNhL

 

Craft:
We made jellyfish! This craft was so much fun. The original pin uses paint, but I opted for markers so they would be easy to cut. Some kids got really into coloring and decorating their jellies- some kids got really into using their scissors. I was thrilled to see how many of my moms let their toddlers (had some young kids today) just do. You want to cut the top? Fine. You’re gonna cut out big chunks for the side? Go for it. Looks great. And you know what? They really did!

510MpWyNdXL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

 

And it went:
I’m a pretty new librarian. I just started working in May and I still find some aspects of librarianship a little intimidating. I’ve been clinging to themes because it’s something secure to rest on- but after just a handful of storytimes, I’m over it. For this storytime, I just picked songs, books, whatever- that I like. After I’d picked everything, I realized there was still a theme- almost all of my books, songs, and rhymes had a strong sense of predictability (in a good way). Isn’t it great when things come together all on their own?

51szOCq8OnL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

This storytime was my best yet by far. It was so much easier to share things that I really do enjoy. I felt really comfortable just doing what felt right. I had a rough order, but I didn’t follow it much. I had to bribe a few kids to sit down and I used Ugly Fish (note to self: cannibalistic fish are a VERY effective bribe), so I started with that instead of Rhyming Dust Bunnies, like I had intended. When we stood up to sing Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes, I first asked what they wanted to sing- “THE ABCS!” one girl shouted, so we did that one first. I had pretty much decided that I wouldn’t share Up and Down, but one of my older girls in attendance noticed it and told me it was her favorite. “Will you read that one next, please?” Um, yeah. Who could say no to that?

So how did it go? It was a great success.

uglyfish_2

 

And no one even got eaten.

 

Leave a Reply

