Books I’m Enjoying: October

One year for my birthday, my dad picked out The Reptile Room for my birthday. He was unfortunately led astray by a book seller and got me the second book of A Series of Unfortunate Events instead of the first, but I read it anyway. And then I read the third and the fourth and eventually went back for the first.

I was too hooked to stop.

Mary Woodrose’s The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place captivated me the same way Lemony Snicket and the same way Charlotte Bronte still does.

1 2 3 4

Book One: The Mysterious Howling
Book Two: The Hidden Gallery
Book Three: The Unseen Guest
Book Four: The Interrupted Tale

This series has a lot going on. Satirical look at gothic literature. Vocabulary lessons. Adorable children raised by wolves. New mysteries at virtually every turn. I devoured them (metaphorically, not literally, like The Incorrigibles might) and I am eagerly anticipating the release of book five. For kids who love Lemony Snicket, Mary Woodrose is a natural next read. For ambitious kids alreading into the classics? They’ll enjoy these too- part of the fun for me is seeing all the comparisons with Jane Eyre. If you enjoy a good mystery and creative wordplay, add this to your must-read list!

Leave a Reply

