Flannel Friday: Thanksgiving Overload

Next week is going to be craaaazy, with about double the number of storytimes I usually have. I’m simplifying and taking the same storytime to my outreaches (and a bonus outreach I’m doing with a coworker) and our regular preschool storytime. It’s Thanksgiving! I’m using stories and rhymes about family, food, and sharing (and turkeys). In the spirit of giving, I have two flannel boards!

One: Stone Soup

unnamedWhat a great Thanksgiving story to tell! I used clip art for all of my veggies and stone. I freehanded the pot (it took me way too long to realize I could fold my sheet of paper in half and have a perfectly symmetrical stencil).

I’ll have too many kids at most of my storytimes to do this, but one of my outreaches is veeeery little, so I’ll let the kids add a vegetables themselves.

Two: Turkey Wore His Red Feather

photo 1

 

This one is for a rhyme (or it can be sung to the tune of “Mary Wore Her Red Dress…” sort of):
Turkey wore his red feather, red feather, red feather.
Turkey wore his red feather all day long.
Repeat adding a new color feather each time. Finish with “Turkey wore his
rainbow feathers.”

I freehanded Turkey and his feathers. I can’t draw feet so he doesn’t have any.

I can’t wait to share these with my (many, many) kids next week!

 

2 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Thanksgiving Overload

Leave a Reply

