Books I Enjoyed: February

I’m behind a month, but I read and enjoyed a lot in February! I spent a good chunk of the month rereading Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and some grown-up books (highly recommend Neil Gaiman’s Trigger Warning), but these two were my faaaaavorites last month.

20820994 20898019

I’ll Give You the Sun, Jandy Nelson: I’m sure I’m not the only one who watches the YMA and then immediately requests anything that I haven’t read yet, right? This is the kind of book that makes you sad you haven’t read it sooner. It’s told in two parts, one in the past and one in the future, by a set of twins. Jude and Noah are inseparable, but they each do something that drives them away from their family and each other. Each can only tell half the story but together they can see the whole truth. BEAUTIFULLY written. MUCH love.

Ms. Marvel: No Normal, G. Willow Wilson: This is everything I’ve ever needed in a comic book. I’ve only read the first anthology (includes issues 1-5), so I don’t know the whole story yet, but I know enough to feel GREAT about this one! It’s funny and Kamala is the perfect heroine: smart, quirky, certainly not perfect, but a good person. She’s exactly what we need more of in books and media: a character of color whose story isn’t about the fact that she’s of color. It informs her story, but it’s not her whole story. Su. perb.

Leave a Reply

