Flannel Friday: The Three Billy Goats Gruff

One of my favorite things about children’s librarianship is how many “firsts” I get to experience with kids. I get to watch them learn and hear songs, stories, and rhymes for the very first time every week in storytime! So this week, I bring you one of my favorite folk tales to tell to the kiddos. It’s a classic! And being the first person to introduce it to a kid is pretty special.

picpic

This set is special to me for another entirely separate reason. It’s the very first felt board I ever made! I made it in my storytelling class in grad school, when I really began to realize that children’s librarianship was what I wanted to do. That was only about a year ago- I can’t believe I’m here, living that dream every day!

piiicIt’s kind of rough craftsmanship and I have no doubt that it would look pretty different if I made it today, about forty felt boards of experience later, but I don’t see this one retiring for a long, long, long time.

 

Leave a Reply

