Flannel Friday: Travel Board Upgrade

This is my travel felt board. I use it primarily for outreach.

photo 2 (1)

It’s in sad shape. I inherited it and you can tell it’s been loved HARD for quite some time. It’s pilling and doesn’t hold felt all that well anymore, but it’s still pretty sturdy.

So here’s my solution. A big ol’ piece of bright yellow felt!

photo 1 (1)

This is a super easy process. All you need is a sturdy surface (upcycle an old chalkboard, dry erase board, canvas…), felt, and adhesive. I used a spray glue that worked really well.

Before I did any of that, I ironed the felt. Be careful on this step- most cheap felt is made from plastic and that won’t mesh well with a hot iron. If you sandwich it between towels, you can iron it without melting it. And if it’s wool felt, you won’t have any problems at all!

photo 3 (1)

Once it was pressed, I cut out a rough rectangle and prepared to glue. I did that in two steps.

photo 4 (1)

I folded in the corners first. There’s a million ways you could do this, but this seemed the easiest.

photo 5 (2)

And then I folded in and glue the long sides. The spray adhesive didn’t work quite as well adhering felt to felt, but it feels sturdy enough. I plan to anchor it with some hot glue juuuuust in case.

photo 1 (2)

And this is my finished product! I much prefer having a solid color and I don’t have nearly as many yellow felt pieces as I have blue and green, so it will be a nicer contrast, if a bit bright. I love it!

One thing I did NOT love was that I got glue all over my fingertips- and it wouldn’t come off! I spent the rest of the afternoon with fuzzy, tacky fingers that stuck to my keyboard. Whoops!

2 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Travel Board Upgrade

Leave a Reply

