(Not So) Flannel Friday: Ribbon Sticks

I don’t have any new felt boards to share this week, but I do have a take on the popular ribbon sticks. Sometimes these involve a dowel rod or a shower curtain ring (all genius), but I had neither of those on hand when I decided I REALLY REALLY needed some about an hour before my music and movement storytime.

So hot glue + scraps of ribbon + craft sticks became…

IMG_3662

My very own ribbon sticks!

I put a line of hot glue on each stick, pressed the ribbon into it until it hardened, and then put a layer of hot glue over it.

IMG_3664

Not the fanciest, but it took twenty minutes from start to finish and they are holding TIGHT. It was a great way to start working through our billions of spools of ribbon and naturally a very fun addition to “Shake Your Body Down.”

I also have a bonus activity! Animal Yoga has quickly become one of my favorite activities for any storytime. We draw a card, imitate the animal pose (like stretching up as tall as we can to be a giraffe- some are easier than others!) and take a few deep breaths while holding the pose.

IMG_3666

On the last breath, we either make the animal sound nice and loud or do the animal action (trumpeting for an elephant, hopping for a frog). This works well as a transition or calm down between books or as a game down all at once.

You can catching the whole Flannel Friday round-up at Mel’s Desk!

One thought on “(Not So) Flannel Friday: Ribbon Sticks

Leave a Reply

