Preschool Storytime: Award Winners

Typically my favorite themes are the ones that are only obvious to me. For this storytime, I picked award-winning books as well as songs and rhymes that have the Nikki Seal of Approval too.

We read…

18295821 22521973 13531024

Beekle, The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat
Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena
This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

We sang…

Hello, Friends (and Goodbye, Friends)
The Itsy Bitsy Spider
The Wheels on the Bus
Skinnamarink

We wiggled…

We Can Jump, Jump, Jump
These Are My Glasses (spoken version)

We made…

Something similar to this (I forgot to take a picture of ours!). We just used construction paper and string for our spiders. When I do crafts with pieces, I put what they need on the table and let them put it together however they want.

And it went…

Really well! If you haven’t used Last Stop on Market Street in storytime, DO IT! They were absolutely entranced by the language and loved pointing out things they saw in each page. And you can sing The Wheels on the Bus afterwards and who doesn’t love that?

Leave a Reply

