Preschool Storytime: New Books

I have a tendency to rely too heavily on books I know to be staples of storytime so occasionally I like to have a focus on the newer books on our shelves.

We read…

23604390 22718696 18465600

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton
One Family by George Shannon
Rupert Can Dance by Jules Feiffer

We sang…

Hello/Goodbye, Friends
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star*
There Are Ribbons Way Up High*

We wiggled…

My Thumbs Are Starting to Wiggle
These Are My Glasses (spoken)

We made…

Toilet paper heart stamps!
DSC_0001

And it went…

Rupert Can Dance was a HUGE hit! The parents loved One Family but it was a little slow for some of my kids. We enjoyed counting the different objects together and finding their families’ “number.” Many of my storytime kids come from BIG families and it was fantastic to be able to share a family book that acknowledges large families.

* We used my DIY ribbon sticks with two of our songs today, once of which is actually a great bubble song, but works really well for ribbons too!

Leave a Reply

