2016 Goals, Revisited

Do you ever have one of those days?

Do you ever have one of those weeks? Months? Six months?!

Way back at the beginning of 2016, I set some blog goals for myself and I have failed in a truly spectacular fashion. I thought about it every time I reviewed a book on goodreads, but not here. Every time I made a felt board I didn’t post. Every storytime I didn’t publish. Eventually it was easier to just ignore that nagging feeling than it was to do the work to catch up.

Who hasn’t taken on one too many projects and found other things suffering? I neglected my blog, but my programs have flourished. I’ve been doing some really cool things in my library that I can’t wait to (eventually) share with you! But those super cool things have required attention I couldn’t dedicate to other projects, like here, or things I’ve said no to personally and professionally.

I’m a relatively new librarian- just over two years as a professional. It’s hard for me to admit when I’ve got too much and have to step back. I’m still figuring out what “too much” means to me. It’s a balancing act. And I don’t have the years to back this statement up, but I’m going to guess it’s the same for a lot of you too.

So here is my goal for the rest of 2016: Forgive yourself. Acknowledge you cannot possibly do all things at once and that when trying to means something else will suffer, step back, and forgive yourself.

(and maybe eventually remember to share your felt boards on flannel friday because it’s fun)

Leave a Reply

