Preschool Storytime: Campfire

This is one of my favorite themes! I’m noticing a lot of my themes fall under that umbrella… but it’s really true! For campfire storytime, I pull out my paper campfire, dim the lights, and read scary stories (relatively speaking).

IMG_6619

We read…

4271837 1300739

The Doghouse by Jan Thomas
Maisy Goes Camping by Lucy Cousins
The Great Big Enormous Turnip told by me

We Sang…

Hello/Goodbye, Friends
Baby Shark
I
f You’re Happy and You Know It

We Wiggled…

Open, Shut Them

We Made…

I spent about five years mixing up an ancient silver paint powder, added approximately nine pounds of glitter, passed out black paper, and we made night sky paintings! Once you ignore the weird smell of paint powder, it’s a really fun, special craft.

It went…

Wonderfully. I really like to touch the “traditional” elements of a campfire by reading a “scary” story and telling a folktale. I learned a variation of the Great, Big, Enormous Turnip in grad school. It has a sung refrain and hand motions that make it really engaging and unique. I use it as often as I can just because it’s so much fun for me to do and it’s such a crowd pleaser. If you’re not using storytelling in your storytimes, I encourage you to start! It captivates little minds (and really impresses the grown-ups).

Leave a Reply

