Preschool Storytime: Soup!

Indiana is pretty gross in January. Especially this year- we’ve barely had any snow but we’ve still been treated to freezing rain and subzero wind chills. If I had my choice, I’d hibernate, but I don’t have hibernation leave at work. As long as I’m stuck, I’ll be doing warm and cozy themes until it starts to thaw.

We read…
feels-sick_w281 51qs9dxajzl-_sx258_bo1204203200_ 225x225bb
B
ear Feels Sick by Karma Wilson
Soup Day by Melissa Iwai
Growing Vegetable Soup by Lois Ehlert

We sang…

Hello/Goodbye, Friends
If You’re Happy And You Know It
Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
Vegetable Soup Song

We wiggled…

Open, Shut Them
These Are My Glasses
This is Big Big Big

We made…

18edabfbdf6b1beaefb6a5dc5ccbf969

This cute soup bowl! I found it on Pinterest with no credit and a reverse image search was unhelpful. Please let me know if you know the origin of this craft! I use plastic cups instead of bowls (we have a weird surplus of cups right now) and foam alphabet beads. Everyone got a squirt of paint inside their cup and a strip of paper with a spoon printed on it (yep, I made them cut their own- gotta work those fine motor skills). They were so cute! And it was nice to send a paint craft home in which the paint is actually contained for once. No messy paintings.

It went…

Great! Who doesn’t love soup, other than lots of picky preschoolers? They loved telling me the things they thought were gross on each page and they loved sharing their favorite foods to use in our soup song. I worried our craft might be a little too simplistic, but it was really popular.

Leave a Reply

