Preschool Storytime: Cats, Cats, Cats

I’d really hate to pigeon hole myself as a stereotypical librarian buuuuut… I love cats. Every time we get a new cat picture book I think to myself, “When was the last time I did cat storytime?” And if the answer is anything other than “you’re literally doing one right now,” then I do it again.

So this week we read

25332037 417ynaja9tl-_sx258_bo1204203200_ 51mc8-kbuil-_sx258_bo1204203200_

Cat Nap by Toni Yuly
They All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel
There Are Cats in This Book by Viviane Schwartz

We sang…

Hello/Goodbye, Friends
If You’re Happy And You Know It
Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
Tony Chestnut Knows I Love You

We wiggled…

Open, Shut Them
These Are My Glasses
This is Big Big Big

We played…

Little Cat felt board

We made…

Paper bag cat puppets. I forgot to take a picture because I am the worst but I gave every child a brown lunch bag and a sheet of brown paper. We talked about the shape cat ears and cat tails are and I had everyone draw and cut their own. As penance, here is a picture of my real cat, whom I love very much.

She's beauty and she's grace.
She’s beauty and she’s grace.

It went…

Great! A fun storytime for the librarian is fun for everyone. In particular, They All Saw a Cat is such a great book. It provides so many STEM opportunities (I said “echolocation” for the first time in storytime with this one) but be prepared to chat. We spent a lot longer on this book than I had planned.

Tony Chestnut is a song I learned in elementary school that I’ve always loved. If you don’t know it, it’s similar to head, shoulders, knees, and toes. As you sing Tony’s name, you point to the different parts of your body (toe-knee chest-nut (head)). We don’t do the whole song, we end on “that’s what Tony knows,” and then just repeat it going faster and faster. It was a hit and a nice shake-up from my typical routine.

Leave a Reply

