Preschool Storytime: Painting

We read…

Monsters Love Colors by Mike Austin
I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More by Karen Beaumont (I sing this one!)
Mouse Paint by Ellen Stoll Walsh

We sang…

Hello/Goodbye, Friends
If You’re Happy and You Know It
I Can Sing a Rainbow

We wiggled…

Red, Red is the Color I See
Open, Shut Them
These Are My Glasses
This is Big Big Big

We played…

img_8861.jpg

We played a color guessing game with the paintbrushes I made for Flannel Friday! It was a HUGE hit. I will definitely be bringing this one back.

We made…

IMG_9113.JPG

What else do you do with a paint theme? You paint! I put sets of primary colors at three tables so we could experiment with color mixing like the mice in Mouse Paint. I used liquid watercolors and I really recommend them for this- unlike gloopy tempera paint, it’s really easy for the peanuts to see the colors mixing together and forming a brand new color. I mixed them in little condiment cups so if they did spill, it was only a few tablespoons.

Our literacy tip…

Color awareness can be a tricky skill to master. The more you and your child talk about the colors around you, the easier it will be for them to learn! Point out colors when you’re reading, driving, or shopping for groceries.

One thought on “Preschool Storytime: Painting

Leave a Reply

